The mountain sing, Nguyen Phan Que Mai

'An epic account of Viet Nam's painful 20th-century history, both vast in scope and intimate in its telling... Moving and riveting.' Viet Thanh Nguyen, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Sympathizer Selected as a Best Book of 2020 by NB Magazine * BookBrowse * Buzz Magazine * NPR * Washington Independent Review of Books * Real Simple * She Reads AN INTIMATE, STIRRING PORTRAIT OF A COUNTRY AT WAR AND A FAMILY'S BATTLE TO SURVIVE Set against the backdrop of the Viet Nam War, The Mountains Sing is the enveloping, multi-generational tale of the Tran family, perfect for fans of Min Jin Lee's Pachinko or Yaa Gyasi's Homegoing. Ha Noi, 1972.

Huong and her grandmother, Tran Dieu Lan, cling to one another in their improvised shelter as American bombs fall around them. Her father and mother have already left to fight in a war that is tearing not just her country but her family apart. For Tran Dieu Lan, forced to flee the family farm with her six children decades earlier as the Communist government rose to power in the North, this experience is horribly familiar.

Seen through the eyes of these two unforgettable women, The Mountains Sing captures their defiance and determination, hope and unexpected joy. Vivid, gripping, and steeped in the language and traditions of Viet Nam, celebrated Vietnamese poet Nguyen's richly lyrical debut weaves between the lives of grandmother and granddaughter to paint a unique picture of the country's turbulent twentieth-century history. This is the story of a people pushed to breaking point, and a family who refuse to give in.

The mountain sing, Nguyen Phan Que Mai

kr199.00Pris
  • Yderligere info

    Forlag: Oneworld Publications

    Udgivelsesdato: 20.08.20

    Format: Hardback

    Sideantal: 352

    Leveringstid: 8 dage

Thiemers Magasin

Tilmeld nyhedsbrev

Her kan du skrive dig op til vores nyhedsbrev.

Du kan altid framelde dig igen

Tullinsgade 24
1618 København V.
tlf +45 50595100
info@thiemersmagasin.dk


reg. 7670 konto 0007775229
mobilepay 742493

Åbningstider

Mandag-fredag 10-18

Lørdag 10-16

Søndag 12-16

  • Facebook
  • Instagram